Review by Ian S

5 out of 5 stars
"Great experience in Camden"

Fantastic and dramatic decor at Shaka Zulu, great food, great service. Was the perfect start to night out in Camden

Ian S
04 June 2021
Helpful? - 1 person found this helpful

Review by SamH

2 out of 5 stars
"Not the best experience..."

Ambience and decor are beautiful. Main meals - fish was overcooked and dry and the Pork T-bone was rubbery and did not have much taste. Cheese Platter looked like it was just bought at a local supermarket and put on a plate - no speciality cheeses or crackers. Chocolate tart was stodgy. Ordered a bottle of wine and was brought the wrong wine - the Manager however did sort this out quickly after by bringing us the correct wine and two free shooters after the meal. Overall not a good experience.

SamH
25 October 2020
Helpful?

Review by Shani

3 out of 5 stars
"Impressive looking restaurant"

This restaurant is stunning, a lot of effort has obviously gone into designing it. It is also huge. We had a lovely time, were not rushed over our meal - in fact service could have been a little quicker. I was not impressed with the food, it was average at best, over-priced for what it was. A shame as this restaurant is beautiful.

Shani
13 January 2020
Helpful?

Review by Pete

1 out of 5 stars
"Shaka Zulu, London, 3 Course Meal for Two"

Do not waste your time, nor money. Lastminute.com will charge you for the meal, but when you get to Shaka Zullu, you will then have to pay twice what you paid to Lastminute.com.

Why? Because nothing is offered with the main dish so you have to pay for every side dish. then Shaka Zulu change you for a12.5% of the total invoice, including what you paid for to Lastminute.com, as a "discretional" service charge! It is a total scam, a fraud.

Pete
31 December 2019
Helpful?

Review by Ms P

5 out of 5 stars
"Excellent food and ambience"

Spacious area with cultural statues and decor. Food was well presented and tasty. Staff were friendly and attentive.

Ms P
22 June 2019
Helpful? - 1 person found this helpful

Review by Dan

3 out of 5 stars
"Cheeky but tasty"

Food was amazing. Cheeky pricing though. Lots of extra charges.

Dan
29 April 2019
Helpful?

Review by Chippy

2 out of 5 stars
"Disappointing"

Very disappointed with the Shaka Zulu experience. Amazing decor but let down by poor value and service. Worth noting that the 3 course meal excludes any sides and there is quite a high supplementary charge if you want the steak. All very rushed. You are made to feel as if you are just part of the Shaka Zulu production line. Ushered to your table (shared with two other couples), given you drink, food and then out through an awful exit...it's the fire exit!! Would not recommend.

Chippy
24 February 2019
Helpful?

Review by TIBET GIRL

5 out of 5 stars
"FOOD EXPERIENCE"

MY GROUP THOROUGHLY ENJOYED OUR EXPERIENCE MEAL AT SHAKA ZULU IN CAMDEN, LONDON.

TIBET GIRL
24 October 2018
Helpful?

Review by Nic

3 out of 5 stars
"Reasonable value"

I bought the 3 course meal and cocktail for £50 deal as a birthday treat for a friend. The food was of a reasonable quality and we didn’t leave feeling hungry. Had to pay for a side to go with the main and there was a 12.5% surcharge. Service was ok although we did think the reception staff were a little abrupt. It is an amazing looking restaurant, definitely worth a visit just to see the detail in the decor. All in all for £50 it wasn’t bad value.

Nic
14 October 2018
Helpful?

Review by Richard Bazsa

5 out of 5 stars
"Great food, great service, friendly staff."

Great food, great service, friendly staff.

Richard Bazsa
13 October 2018
Helpful?

Review by Caroline

4 out of 5 stars
"Meal at Shaka Zulu"

Good food and great interior design at the restaurant. We have visited South Africa many times and it reminded us of some wonderful holidays.

Caroline
30 September 2018
Helpful?

Review by N akhtar

2 out of 5 stars
"Restaurant looks impressive, food disappointing!"

We were given a meal gift at this restaurant through Lastminute.com. The restaurant was nicely decorated and staff were friendly and attentive. Had to order From set menu with limited options. Ordered a steak which had an additional supplement price to pay. Also not a complete main meal, was only served with half a tomato, prompting us to buy a side dish. Food was average and in my view overpriced. Bill charged 12% service charge on total cost, so having a pre paid meal voucher system was pointless!

N akhtar
27 September 2018
Helpful?

Review by Angela

4 out of 5 stars
"An interesting experience"

You can easily rack up a big bill here by adding to the slightly limited choice in this menu so choose carefully! The restaurant is stunning and original and the staff were brilliant. The food was delicious and I would go back to experience the a la Carte menu. I would recommend buying this voucher

Angela
26 August 2018
Helpful?

Review by Marc (a South African)

2 out of 5 stars
"Misleading"

Although the food tasted nice, the food was not South African. If you look at the menu it hardly had any food on there that you’d typically find in South Africa. Wouldn’t recommend this menu to someone looking for a realistic South African experience. Decor was nice though

Marc (a South African)
12 August 2018
Helpful?

Review by lg

5 out of 5 stars
"nice food great restuarant"

nice friendly staff good food with some unusual items to choose from. Great quirky restuarant. happy hour all day Sunday with a selection of half price cocktails. would reccomend

lg
30 July 2018
Helpful?

Review by Millie thrussell

2 out of 5 stars
"Service awful"

The food was amazing but service was awful and they had the cheek to ask for £10 service charge when we waiting half hour for a drink then 20 minutes for the bill, when I told them how upset I was I didn’t even get an a apology just an ‘ok’. We was so excited to go and left so disappointed.

Millie thrussell
15 April 2018
Helpful?

Review by H Martin

4 out of 5 stars
"Lovely 3 course lunch"

I ordered a 3 course lunch with cocktail deal for my friend's birthday and we were not disappointed. Excellent service, amazing food and beautiful surroundings. The only thing I would have liked to have seen is more of the exotic food choices on our set menu as we would both have loved to try something a little different. I will definitely be coming back here to experience what the restaurant and bar is like at night & have already recommended to friends and family. Overall a great experience.

H Martin
23 January 2018
Helpful?

Review by NatD

4 out of 5 stars
"Excellent food and service!"

We all thoroughly enjoyed our evening at Shaka Zulu, I'm often weary of "themed " restaurants but the food and service was on par with the amazing decor! Well worth a visit!

NatD
19 October 2017
Helpful?

Review by Jonathan

2 out of 5 stars
"Shaka Zulu"

Interesting place to visit, very dramatic space, however service is poor. Whilst food was ok staff made very little effort and you got the feeling this meal deal was the lowest of priorities. Sides are extra, several items on the menu incur a surcharge and the service charge is applied to the full value of the meal including the voucher.

Jonathan
09 October 2017
Helpful?

Review by Reinhard Joseph

1 out of 5 stars
"Poor service."

The reception Manager was rude and not hospitable. .... she said if you come after 7 you lose your voucher. ..and on arrival there was no warmth ..... just rushing to get you out.... not happy. Food was British food trying to call it south African. .. A joke

Reinhard Joseph
30 September 2017
Helpful?

Review by Jen mike

4 out of 5 stars
"Meal out"

Nice surroundings nice staff food ok lovely starters and puddings but mains need some work on only on set menu and was charged extra for a small steak considering is a meat restaurant a little ironic and not great cut either but overall good

Jen mike
09 September 2017
Helpful?

Review by Fionabee

5 out of 5 stars
"Stunning location"

Unusual meal, interesting cocktail but absolutely stunning location. Will be going back in the not too distant future.

Fionabee
31 August 2017
Helpful?

Review by Linda

5 out of 5 stars
"Loved it and would go again"

What a wonderful experience, felt like a museum as well as a restaurant

Linda
15 July 2017
Helpful?

Review by Donna

4 out of 5 stars
"Great surroundings"

Very ornate unusual decor. Had to walk down escalators as they were broken. Might. Be a problem for less mobile people. Food ok, service good. Set in the middle of Camden market which has a lovely bustle feel.
Not exceptional value for money as you pay for any extras plus service charge based on the amount already paid to last minute , so obviously never left much of a tip.

Donna
11 June 2017
Helpful?

Review by mel-d

5 out of 5 stars
"Shaka Zulu - 18th birthday celebration"

The service/food and atmosphere were excellent. I would definitely recommend it , it was a brilliant night
only downside was the escalator was not working and has not been working for over 2 months according to on one of the members of staff.

mel-d
22 May 2017
Helpful?

Review by Sarah Moore

3 out of 5 stars
"Great experience but average food"

The experience is great. The restaurant is a lot of fun and beautifully decorated. However, the food was very average and very small portions.

Sarah Moore
10 April 2017
Helpful?